The Danish legends in The Savage Rose (photo), are celebrating their 50th anniversary this year. They have done so, by selling out ‘Gamle Scene’ at the Royal Danish Theatre in Copenhagen three nights in a row, and will continue the celebration during the summer, including at SPOT Festival.

The band have had a major influence on the Danish music scene over the years, and even megastar Björk mentions them as one of her sources of inspiration.

Through both lyrics and actions the band have always been regarded as very political and have performed at rallies protesting war or nuclear power on several occasions and promoted love and freedom just as often.
Though frontwoman Annisette has turned 68, she is still going strong and making new music. A new album, ‘Homeless’, is in the making and is set for release this year.
So expect both pieces of music history and new songs at their SPOT performance.

Roots&Hybrid reveals complete line-up.
The new festival within the festival Roots&Hybrid, was announced a month ago, alongside the first six acts including headliner, Omar Souleyman. The musical profile covers music which derives from specific peoples or geographical music traditions. The full line-up is:

Omar Souleyman (SY), BaBa Zula (TR), The Kutimangoes (DK), Kalaha (DK), Balkan Basterds (DK), AySay (DK), La3no Cubano (SI), Gadjos feat. Special guest (SE), AddisAbabaBand (DK), Ida Wenøe (DK), Dawda Jobarteh (DK), Elmøe og Hoffman (DK), Kidmo Laran (DK), DJ Peter Peter (DK), Debre Damo Dining Orchestra (DK), Mantra Soundsystem (DK), Mathias Heise Quadrillion (DK), Zebu Zarina (DK), Mambe & Danochilango (DK), Bilal Irshed Trio (DK), Hudna feat. DíSa (DK).

Roots&Hybrid is a collaboration between ‘det turkise telt’ and SPOT, and the entrance is free with your SPOT ticket. It will be take place at Ridehuset on both Friday and Saturday during SPOT.

KarriereKanonen reveal this years talent-pics.
The talent development programme ‘KarriereKanonen’ has selected the 12 finalists, among hundreds of bands and singers.
The 12 acts will be showcased at SPOT in front of a jury of key people from the Danish music industry, who will select 8 of them to go through to the final at Smukfest in August.

The 12 acts are:
Moody, Pogo Polis, Duks, Lea, KÅ, Ponti, Audio District, Sherpa, Owkey, Oktober, Rest in Beats and Outdoor Fun.
– – – –
Photo of The Savage Rose leadsinger, Annisette, top of page by Morten Rygaard.